Green background horseback riding jumper

Modern Pentathlon

The modern pentathlon is a sport for the modern-day Renaissance man or woman because it allows competitors to showcase a variety of talents. Made up of five events-fencing, freestyle swimming, horse jumping, pistol shooting, and cross country running-the modern pentathlon tests a wide variety of skill. During the first four events, athletes are given points based on performance. The total points earned at the end of the fourth event determines the athlete’s placement in the final event, cross country running. Higher points mean an early start time. Lower points mean a late start time. The first competitor done with the cross country race wins the pentathlon. Modern pentathlon competitors must have a knack for excelling in a wide variety of sports and thrive in competitive and diverse activities.

Governing Bodies

UIPM USA Pentathlon
Learn more about modern pentathlon
Young fencing boy

Sports Affiliated with Modern Pentathlon

, Change Location

Modern Pentathlon Articles